Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

looking for some info about magnets for kinetic sculptural project

Status
Not open for further replies.

slatepipe

Electrical
Apr 22, 2013
GB
hi there

i am a practising sound artist and have in mind a large sculptural piece for my next project.

the piece will be based on a magnetic pendulum type of executive toy, similar to the image link below, and i anticipate it will be about 2.5m-3m tall

1872_romp_1.jpg

the magnets will have sensors in them which will send on/off signals wirelessly to a computer when the pendulum interacts with them. this will then trigger sounds and form a kind of random composition.

i have been doing a little research on the internet and found this forum and thought it seemed like a reasonable place to put some ideas forward and ask some questions :

i want the ball on the pendulum to have a magnet in it so that it can be attracted and repelled by the magnets on the base. i want the magnets on the base to be able to switch polarity so that the course of the pendulum's swing can be altered while in use. i think perhaps this could be done via a remote control of some sort. the magnets on the base need to be movable so different patterns of swing by the pendulum can be performed. they also need to be able to be attracted or fixed to the base so that they do not 'jump' onto the pendulum's magnet.

can anyone give any advice on types of magnets that they would consider to be suitable? i am thinking that they will have to be electro magnets, possibly battery powered,so that they are freely moveable, but i realise other forms of power could be viable. price is a factor to consider, i can afford a reasonable amount but i dont want this to cost the earth.