Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Losing field current in a DC machine 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

blunt80fi

Electrical
Jun 23, 2004
FI
Hello!

I'm simulating a DC Motor with matlab. I have this problem with simulating the situation where the field current is lost when the machine is running in steady state. My results show that the armature current becomes very high and the rotation speed drops to zero. But what should happen with the voltages and torque? I have very little experience with these kinds of machines, and I get some results for these also, but they don't seem to be reasonable. I would be very happy for all tips and information anyone can give.

Thank you.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

While you (or your program) are right about high armature current due to field loss, you have got it totally wrong about the speed. When you lose the field, theoretically, the speed is infinity and in practice, the motor will reach the speed whence it will destroy itself in the absence of protection to prevent such events.

Be careful loosing the motor field can be dangerous
The three main types of DC motors are: Permanent Magnet, Shunt wound, and Series wound.
Permanent Magnet