Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Low speed airfoil and relative wind.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anachronist

Jul 14, 2015
US
I'm looking for clarification about low speed flight (<60kts)and relative wind in real world conditions. My background is sailing so it's difficult to transfer all that information into an object with no contact to water or ground. We were taught that the relative wind or air flow over an airfoil is always in the opposite direction of flight, it was implied that this meant the exact direction air would take over the wing would always be the same when in level flight even if the aircraft was perpendicular to a severe cross wind. My thought is that since an aircraft is not a gas molecule, it would not behave like one and travel precisely with the air column (drag, mass, bow shock etc). I've also noticed a tendency flying RC planes that they seem more prone to dipping a wing tip unexpectedly when landing in a cross wind (I always interpreted as a small gust, instead of causing lift if heading straight into the wind, more greatly disturbing the direction of airflow over the wing). Is the direction of travel over the wing not skewed a little in the direction of the true wind if the aircraft is flying perpendicular to it, even if only a few degrees? Thanks in advance.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

At low speed, you have to 'crab' the plane to take account of strong cross wind i.e. the direction of flight does not match the direction of the fuselage.

Then as your wheels hit the runway you have to pull it back around quickly.

This is one of the things that makes landing a plan kind of tricky.

Posting guidelines faq731-376 (probably not aimed specifically at you)