Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

LRFD (or LSD in canada) versus Allowable STRESS design. 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexey881

Mechanical
Mar 24, 2013
CA
Hello, I'm having a problem converting myself between methodologies. Let me explain:

I'm a mechanical engineer who recently finished my studies, which were all in Allowable Stress Design (everything based on yield strength and safety factors). For different parts we would resolve force components into stresses and then apply some a criteria of Von Mises depending on what is required. (+ some safety factor). Now I'm working in seismic restraint design industry for equipements (such as chillers, exchangers, pumps, etc.) and the seismic force is LRFD or LSD force. My question is, can I take the LRFD/LSD force, use my university methodology to combine stresses (ex. T+V+Moment stresses) and then instead of using Yield Strength, use Ultimate strength, but Apply the reduction factor Phi listed in the code for a given type of the system?

So, am I doomed to only use all new formulas from CSA-S16 or AISC steel manual or there is some reasonably easy way of converting between the two methodologies? And also when I get to catalogs of small/thin channels or angles (12GA cantrusses, or 1/8" to 1/4") Do I simply take their maximum allowable buckling/shear/tension load and compare it with my LRFD/LSD force? Cause most of catalogs seem to specify allowable loads (or allowable design loads). It seems like im missing some step or conversion.

Thanks for your help!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you