Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

M.E. looking for a new job 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

NDEngineer

Mechanical
May 25, 2004
US
Wow, this is such a great forum!

I have been working for a small M&E consulting firm as a Mechanical Design Engineer for almost a year (I graduated college last May). I enjoy my job for the most part, but I have a very low salary and don't like the city that I live in. For these reasons, I am on the job hunt again and seeking advice from those of you with years of experience behind you.

My main dillema is whether I should find another consulting firm to work for, or try something different. Working at a large HVAC company as a product development engineer or something along those lines seems interesting to me, but I don't know an awful lot about the responsibilities of a position like this. Does anyone that does this type of work wish to offer advice?

Another thing I'm concerned about is the ability to obtain my P.E. Can I do this if I work for a manufacturer? It seems to me that almost all P.E.'s are consultants. I am looking for employment in a large metropolitan area, so I have a lot of options...I'm just not sure which ones to go for! I don't know a lot of other Mechanical Engineers in the workforce, so I'm asking you guys for some guidance. Thanks!!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

NDEngineer - There are many routes to obtaining a PE license. As long as you are performing engineering work, can provide a meaningful written desciption to your state board, and have good references with the necessary credentials, you should have no trouble qualifying to take the PE exam. Of course, passing it is up to you. There are plenty of PEs in industry & government, not just consulting.

Best Wishes