Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Macro Looping and If Statement Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

bl79

Mechanical
Jan 22, 2011
US
OK, I am having a lot of trouble utilizing loops and if statements. I have some experience with programming but for some reason writing these macros is killing me.

I just want to create a macro that will go through every single cell and check it to see if X is in that cell. If X is in the cell then change it to Y and continue to the next cell and if not then move to the next cell.

Ive tried several ways of doing this but none seem to work for me. Could someone help me out.

For example Ive tried to delete the #DIV/0! error(I know there are easier ways but I would like to come up with a general method as I described for other circumstances.

My several faulty codes:

Sub delete()
Do While n < 30
Do While i < 30
If Cells(i, n).Value = "#DIV/0!" Then [Cells(i,n).Value=""]
i = i = 1
Loop
n = n + 1
Loop

End Sub

Sub Macro1()
For n = 1 To n = 30
For i = 1 To i = 30
Cells(i, n).Select
If ActiveCell = "#DIV/0!" Then
ActiveCell.Value = ""
End If
Next i
Next n
End Sub

Again, I know there are more efficient ways but I see no reason why this wouldn't work. Clearly Im just a newb

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

For starters:

Code:
Sub delete()
Do While n < 30
    Do While i < 30
    If Cells(i, n).Value = "#DIV/0!" Then [!][s][Cells(i,n).Value=""][/s][/!]
      [COLOR=blue]Cells(i,n).Value=""
    End if[/color]
    [!][s]i = i = 1[/s][/!]
    [COLOR=blue]i = i + 1[/color]
    Loop
    n = n + 1
Loop
End Sub

Sub Macro1()For n = 1 To [!][s]n = [/s][/!] 30
    For i = 1 To [!][s]i = [/s][/!] 30
        Cells(i, n).Select
                ActiveCell.Value = ""
            End If
    Next i
Next n
End Sub