Managing Other Engineers 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

MRob909

Structural
Jul 26, 2022
GB
Hello Everyone,

I'm sure this predicament has been discussed many times on this forum, but looking for an up to date viewpoint.

In my current position (small company of < 20 staff) I find myself being responsible for the management of the engineers (~10 staff). Being an engineer myself, I'm actually finding this to be quite difficult given we have a wide variety of personalities and experience levels.

The underlying tone is that the mid to senior level engineers do not want to be managed at all and make it clear they are disgruntled over having too high a workload. Yet they do not want me to help them manage their workload - and so the cycle deepens.

Our junior staff are more than willing to be managed but they also require the most guiding/ teaching, which I am facilitating but again our mid-senior levels do not want to help out with.

I was wondering if anyone had uncovered the holy grail of managing disgruntled engineers, I have tried discussing in 1-1's and in groups but it inevitably turns into a moan and groan about the Company. I'm at a loss as to how I can help out.

My other observation is that in the post-covid era, I do wonder if the increase in online meetings is actually making our work less personable and affecting our communication lines within our Team - may be a contributing factor to the above?

Open for discussion!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

You say they don't want to be managed - where is their work coming from? Are they each responsible for bringing in their own clients and projects?

You say "find yourself being responsible".

So what EXACTLY is the organisation and responsibility level here from top to bottom.