Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Mannings versus Moody's Equation 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

CompEngr

Mechanical
Apr 28, 2021
US
Hi,

I am looking over a Civil Engineer's calculations for pipe sizing. He uses the Rational Method to calculate rain fall. Then he uses the Manning Equation to size the 24" diameter pipe assuming the pipe is 94% full and a 1% slope.

As a mechanical engineer, I've sized smaller diameter (not 24" diameter) Schedule 40 or 60 stainless pipe using Bernoulli's law and the Moody chart. My understanding the Manning's equation is empirical equation for open channel flow that does not consider static head.

Why do Civil Engineers use Manning versus Bernoulli and the Moody chart? Does the Moody chart assume a pipe that is full while Civil Engineers are sizing larger size pipe where the pipe is not full? As such, the pipe could be treated as a open channel for larger diameters?

Thank you,
A mechanical engineer trying to figure a civil engineers calcs

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Bernouli still applies.

Manning is for open channel, uniform flow where there is a free loquid surface, hence there is no pressure differential available to drive the flow. Bernouli's DeltaP=0. The slope of the channel dictates the gain or loss of energy due to gravity, Bernouli's differential head Delta Z. Bernouli's Velocity head, V^2/2/g is balanced against Delta Z - channel friction f.

Delta Z per unit length of channel is the channel's slope S.

V^2/2/g = S -f

Keeping S constant, you see that there is a corresponding velocity which balances the energy gain, or loss due to slope of the channel minus the friction factor of the channel/liquid interface at that velocity.