Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Martensite in 440c stainless Question 5

Status
Not open for further replies.

sodeen

Materials
Jan 20, 2011
US
While I have plenty of experience with low-carbon steel microstructures, I have only recently begun working with stainless steel (specifically, 440c.)

I have been trying to polish and etch a few samples that based on the heat treatment of the cycle should be mostly martensitic in nature. (Thin Cross-section Induction Heated to 1950-2000 degrees F, then quenched in a water-based quenchant.) However, using Vilella's etch (immersion, 10-15 seconds), I have yet to see anything resembling the light/dark needles usually seen in normal martensite. Instead, depending on how long I leave the etchant on, I am seeing large, light-colored grains (Retained Austenite?) and some darker, ill-defined areas.

I have included a picture of the microstructure (100x). Rockwell Hardness (c) has been consistently between 57 and 60 for this part.

My questions are threefold:

-Is Stainless Steel Martensite different under visual examintaion than regular 1040? Do I need to do something different in order to see the martensitic structure?

-Is there a good web repository that might have a 440c TTT or CCT diagram? Google turns up nothing, and this company has no on-site resources to consult.

- One of the main concerns for these parts is the heat treatment causing the parts to increase their "out-of-roundness." Would the volume change from Austenite to Martensite have an effect on this?

Thank you for your time, if there is anything I can do to clarify please feel free to respond.

-sodeen

Replies continue below

Recommended for you