Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

MASc to combine Structural and Materials

Status
Not open for further replies.

SP777

Structural
Mar 21, 2013
CA
I'm wondering what you folks here think of MASc (structural) for aspiring structural engineers. I graduated with a degree in civil engineering (focus w/ Structural) and have been working for a year now in the industry. I don't mind it, but I don't love it either and I figure why settle when I can continue my education while I don't have any real obligations. I feel like I'm learning a lot, however not in the way I'd like to. For example when designing, I find myself skimming through code books looking to make sure I've satisfied applicable clauses (and interpreting them!!) without truly understanding them. I don't want to work for 5 years and know what books I need to reference for design, but rather I'd want to be able to instincively know/figure out the stresses in a material.