Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Masonry 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

MMN54321

Materials
Jul 26, 2020
US
I am new to masonry design and need a check list for residential
Some complete design examples would be great

What I am unsure about is irregularity how do you model odd shapes,

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Yeah
I have text books and know how to do most design
What Iam looking for is a good check list for residential
And a work flow that fits residential with some design examples

In TMS 402 it states that the maximum useable strain is to be 0.0025 for concrete masonry.
But it dose not say anything about the steel strain.
Can you please explain how to calculate it.

TMS 402 Section 9.3.2 a) Strain compatibility exists between the reinforcement, grout and masonry.

Typically the assumption is that plane sections remain plane. Proportioning beams for flexure is iterative just like concrete design. Assume steel yields check strain in CMU etc. This is pretty fundamental to CMU design.

If your looking for a checklist specific to masonry for residential construction I might suggest building it up yourself.

Generally things to consider are Vertical loads, Main Lateral System Loads, Anchorage and attachment details, serviceability (control joints).

How do you calculate how the change in length of the steel when it yields. TMS 402
says that the usable strain in the masonry is 0.0025.
So what would the usable strain in the steel be?
They are using 0.00207 in all of the examples.
I don't understand where they are getting this number.