Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

MBA VS MSc structural engineering? 10

Status
Not open for further replies.

malikasal

Structural
Nov 17, 2013
AE
Guys, i am a structural engineer (FE) with 4 years of experience in steel structures , i am thinking of adding some mor letters after my name by getting the PE this year and starting a master programme, i am appealing to the experienced engineers in this fantastic forum, lets start voting (MBA VS Msc).

ôIf you don't build your dream someone will hire you to help build theirs.ö

Tony A. Gaskins Jr.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

It is really totally dependant on what you want to do with your career. They are two separate paths. MBA will not help you become a better engineer. Msc won't help (much) to become a better manager. Early in my career I started down the MBA path, ultimately deciding to pursue a MS in engineering. Right before I finished my master's degree, the manufacturing plant I was working at was shut down and I moved to a different industry (Energy). The MS has been much more beneficial to me in terms of career advancement, than the MBA would have been in this position. But...I prefer the engineering career path vs. the management career path. Tried my hand at the management thing for a few years, and did not like the amount of time it took me away from my family, so went back to engineering. So that is a personal decision you have to make, nobody on this forum can tell you what's best for you and your family.

JP is right, a lot of it has to do with your personal goals, skills, and strengths. A few other points to consider:

Either path will offer credential value. In my opinion, the PE is more valuable than either in credential value, and probably in real value unless you find a particularly useful research niche.