Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

ME career limitations if leaving hospital and plant work for school and church projects

Status
Not open for further replies.

MinnesotaSlinger

Mechanical
Feb 13, 2008
US
I'm an ME currently working as a contractor for a major power company leading small capital projects, doing both project management and design work at power plants. I love it, but next year will see a big drop off in mechanical projects in our group, which has me worried that I won't be needed anymore and should maybe be looking elsewhere. Before arriving at my current position 21 months ago, I designed HVAC and med gas systems for hospitals and steam/chilled water systems for hospital central plants for six years. And before that, I was an officer on nuclear subs. Anyway, next week I have an interview with a local A&E firm that mostly does schools and churches. Of course, I have no idea if I would feel it a good fit for me or if they will think me a good fit for them. Supposing I were offered a job and got a good feeling about the firm, I do have to wonder about career moves away from what I know and what I've enjoyed. Since I have hospital work and plant work in my background, I worry that doing something else would limit my career in the future if I try to get back to them. Is this something I should be concerned about?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Schools and Churches are easy to design, but are notoriously difficult clients without a lot of margin. There's twenty cooks in the kitchen whenever a church decides to do anything. Same for a school.

Healthcare development is just as stable over the next 15 years due to the aging boomers, is complex enough to demand higher margins, and are usually easier clients to deal with.