Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Measureing Insulation Resistance of AC Induction Motors 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

cranetrainer

Industrial
Aug 12, 2009
US
I am new to this site, but I have found a lot of valuable information. I have a question that I hope someone can help answer. I am a trainer and I am in the process of developing training material on using a Megger to measure the insulation resistance of AC Induction Motors. When I research this topic it seems everyone has a different opinion on how to test the motor. I was always taught to measure each leg of the motor to ground (independently), yet others seem to say you only need to measure from one leg of the Motor to ground. Can anyone tell me what is the accepted method, should we go with one leg or all three to ground?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Cranetrainer--

The most common AC three-phase motors have all three legs connected internally, so a DC test like using a Megger stresses a all three legs at the same time. A quick round of point-to-point testing with an ohmmeter will verify this.

Some motors have more leads brought out for various reasons, and in this case, you use the nameplate and/or your trusty ohmmeter to see how the windings are (or aren't) connected, then you ground everything except the winding you're testing.

Here's a link:
You will find more then most folks will need in that document.

old field guy