Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Mechanical engineer salary, 6 years experience

Status
Not open for further replies.

dextermech

Mechanical
Dec 24, 2004
US
Hello,

I am a mechanical engineer with 6 years of experience in the plastics auxillary equipment design industry. I started there right out of college. What type of salary should I be expecting? I know that this is a broad question that will probably draw broad responses...

I'm the lead engineer on the primary future product in a company that does about $25,000,000/year in gross sales.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Have you tried your engineering association's salary survey? They usually break it down by responsibility, as well as years since graduation, and also by discipline. You may also want to consider your discipline/trade association as well. Another source is to go to a few interviews for positions you think are similar, or the next step up from your current one.

Salary really vary by geographical area and industry. Asking a general question like that will not help in your particular situation, except in case you are looking to move on into another job/area/industry/etc.

"Do not worry about your problems with mathematics, I assure you mine are far greater."
Albert Einstein
Have you read FAQ731-376 to make the best use of Eng-Tips Forums?

Hmmm, how much has your employer agreed to give you? That is exactly how much you should be expecting!! ;-)

Go to Salary.com, from there you can at least get a mean for your area, experience, and industry...

-The future's so bright I gotta wear shades!