Mechanical Engineer VS Civil Engineer 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

fayazdin

Mechanical
Oct 5, 2001
US
Hello folks,
I am a mechanical engineer (ME). I have designed serveal plumbing systems for buildings. We (MEs) always design plumbing system inside the building and terminate our design 5-feet from the building, where a civil engineer (CE) picks up and runs with the utility (water, sewer)lines.

I want to know if this magic figure "5-feet" from the building is an unwritten rule to differenciate between ME and CE responsibilities or is there an engineering LAW that defines the responsibilites of MEs and CEs?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

site engineering is done by engineers experienced in that and generally happy to allow the mech engineers do the plumbing inside of the building. If you have the experience to do the site engineering (survey, grading, drainage etc) then by all means continue your water and sewerline plans all the way to the street.

There is no written "rule" that governs who does what.

In many countries a piping engineer will do both. Other counties do not recognise the discipline of piping engineering.

Just remember that a professional engineer should not undertake work outside their competency without it being checked by a competent engineer.

Mechanical engineers design weapons and civil engineers build targets.

I sit corrected.

I wrote before I looked.

The code - IPC in my neck of the woods- states it is 30" where the division lies between the building drain and the building sewer.

Five feet is a convention.

if the pipe is buried Civil
if the pipe not buried Mechaical

or
if it moves and was not supposed to Civil
if does not move and was supposed to Mechanical

Hydrae

I am not so sure that the 5' is a firm convention.