Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Mechanical Engineer wanting to switch to aircraft maintenance 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Asanga

Mechanical
Sep 17, 2002
CH
I found a lot of info on my question on a previous thread where an aeronautical engineering grad wanted some help from the old-timers. But as I stated in the heading, my situation is that I have a degree in Mechanical Engineering. I have worked for an interior mod company for VIP aircraft for about two years. While there, I worked for the Environmental Control Systems group designing basic water drainage and air circulation systems. I have also worked in Weights and Balance and in some of the strutural mod work (not primary strutural work though). My interest is to get into the maintenance side and probably work for a major airline.So my question is how should I proceed academic wise??? For initial employment with an airline, I am sure I need to have something like the FlightSafety International Engineering Safety program that the guy in a previous thread talked about.(thread2-30379 I am not currently in the US although my degree and work experience is from there. But I am hoping to emigrate to Canada and I would like to plan out my path ahead of time. I would guess that the Canadian Civil Aviation Industry would follow the same rules as the US (please pardon my ignorance if that is not the case!!!)
Thank you very much for any information or advice that can be provided. Meanwhile, I will try to dig through all the info goodies that are in this Forum and try to find some more stuff that will help me out.
Thank you,
Asanga

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

When I was in college I co-opped with many mechanical engineers. When it comes to repairs it doesn't matter too much what your degree is in. You need to know statics, materials, and so on. You don't necessarily need to know aerodynamics and things like that.