Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Mechanical Interlocks On MCC's

Status
Not open for further replies.

ElectricMech

Industrial
Jan 10, 2006
I'm trying to indicated where a mechanical interlock should be so the panel supplier knows where this needs to be tied to. I'm not really experienced in this area and all I know is that it needs to be either on the MCC or the stand alone breaker. How do I find the stand alone breaker on the one-lines? There are no other sparkys around here to help me so I'm hoping I can get my answer here.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Not totally sure what you mean, but here's a shot.
If you have an MCC, then I don't understand the reference to a "stand alone breaker". If the starter is in the MCC, the breaker must be in there with it. If you have a feeder breaker in the MCC feeding power to a remote starter, there would not necessarilly need to be another stand alone breaker in the starter again, just a disconnect switch would suffice, although a 2nd CB is OK, just a waste of money since it really is just a local disconnect at that point. So let's separate these scenarios.

1) Starter with breaker in MCC:
If you are referring to an interlock that prevents access to the MCC cubicle unless the power is off, the interlock mechanism is supposed to be a part of the circuit breaker operating mechanism. Depending on the manufacturer, some leave the operating mechanism attahed to the cubib\cle and latch onto a catch on the door, others mount the handle to the door and latch onto a shaft that operates the breaker.

2) Fedder in MCC, remote starter: