Metallic Ink Spray for Shielding! 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

var10

Mechanical
Apr 4, 2013
IN
Hi,

I am trying to stop emi losses by upgrading the current design of our product. And I came across metallic ink that can be sprayed or just painted. Just wondering if this is better than conventional ways meaning using finger stock gaskets, conductive seals, conductive tapes etc? Curious to know what they are like if someone has used them? Are they very expensive?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

A paint or ink is not going to completely seal a joint, so there's some risk of leakage

TTFN
faq731-376
7ofakss

Need help writing a question or understanding a reply? forum1529

Of course I can. I can do anything. I can do absolutely anything. I'm an expert!
There is a homework forum hosted by engineering.com:

EMI through lcd screens? Any one faced this kind of an issue before?

Sorry for giving a very bland question. I am still researching and talking to our electrical engineers.

Your EEs should already know about this. Indium Tin Oxide is one option. Vapor deposited gold mesh is another.

TTFN
faq731-376
7ofakss

Of course I can. I can do anything. I can do absolutely anything. I'm an expert!

I have been associated with several generations of medical electronics where various nontechnical leader types forced the use of plastics as electronic enclosures to save money. Every one of them was convinced that 'shielding paint' would take care of the electromagnetic radiation/ susceptibility problem all by itself. (This in products where the normal preamp output pulse range goes from 6 volts to 6 microvolts.)

Unfortunately, 'we' found out the hard way, several times in succession, that you can't effectively and durably ground paint, no matter how conductive the paint itself may be, and no matter how many thousands of dollars a gallon of paint might cost.