Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Minimum Header bearing - IRC2003 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

DarrenEmery

Structural
Oct 28, 2005
US
Hello All,

I am a building inspector in the midwest, looking for some help understanding the engineering issues behind a code requirement. I searched the archives but didn't find anything that addressess my question.

The IRC and the IBC call for two jack studs (called trimmers around here) on header spans based upon header size and span, as well as loading factors. Framers around here have a rule of thumb that a single trimmer is good for anything under 6'. When I cite this violation, I get all kinds of arguement, much of it valid in my opinion.

The IRC/IBC chart jumps to two trimmers much earlier than the UBC did, and I'd like to have a good reasoning behind the intent of this code when I explain it.

I'm wondering if the trimmer requirement is more a function of compression on the stud itself, or a deflection issue on the header material, or a combination of both?

Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance for the input!

Darren Emery

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Darren,
I am not familar with the IRC but the IBC (table 2308.9.6) allows single jacks to be used under certain loading conditions (one floor, 20' width) for up to 5'-9" spans. The jacks studs, or trimmers are used for bearing of the header, they do not help much in the way of deflection. What do the plans say? I always spec header sizes as well as # of jacks and bypass (kings) at my openings. The # of jacks required is based on the load applied to that header. Even if a header and jacks meet the table requirements, they may not be sufficient if a large load from a girder or beam is resting on them.

Thanks for the input, Scott.