Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Minimum Require GPM for Pump / NPSHa

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ultganon2437

Mechanical
Jun 19, 2021
US
Hello there, I have moved into a new position that has to do with piping and pumps in a ship construction industry and part of my assignment is to verify a pump and make sure that everything will work fine. I am just learning about pumps as id previously worked in 3d modeling.

My question is that a client has spec'd out a certain pump that they want to use, whose minimum required GPM is based off the MVR standards for bilge pumps. I'm not sure how it applies but I have heard that a 10% safety margin is supposed to be used. Is this 10% supposed to be added to the minimum required GPM to find a correct pump or as long as the NPSHa is above NPSHr by a factor of 10% then all is good?

To go a little more in depth the minimum required discharge is 480 GPM and the client has chosen a pump with a max rating of 490 and shutoff head of 47 ft which is good, but if the 10% is added to the 480 GPM then that would make it 528 GPM and based on the pump curve then the shutoff head would need to be higher based on the impeller they have chosen.

So what is the correct approach to follow? Any help is appreciated, Thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

You need to dig a little deeper into what is what, is 480 the flow required to be a specific operating condition, or just some arbitory number, what is the head required from the pump at this flow?
You also need to understand the inlet condions regarding NPSHA/R, that's actual not assumed,
So, establish real numbers before adding margins, this way you get a properly selected pump for a specific duty, not a pump that will over or under perform in operation.