Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Mitsubishi 3020 Help.. anyone?

Status
Not open for further replies.

LaserIdiot

Industrial
Jun 14, 2017
CA
Hello. I'm green to laser cutting. The place I work has had a major loss, our laser operator of 20 years has passed away. And with him went all the knowledge of running the machine. I am fairly new to this company and have been tasked with the responsibility of running the laser, due to my waterjet experience. I have all the manuals for the laser and NC but I know little of the machine itself.

My problems are varied.

1. 1/4" Mild steel is cutting fine in almost every direction. The x axis moving to zero is rough, lots of gouging, no dross and proper dimensions.. but the cut looks terrible. The rest of the sides look perfect. I have conducted lead tests and the laser appears to be passing through the nozzle dead center. I assisted our late operator in a lens and mirror cleaning two weeks ago, so I am familiar with the process of aligning the mirrors 1 through 6. Could I be slightly out of alignment on my 5 and 6 mirror? Or could it be the lens saver is dirty.