Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Mold Wizard Performance Issues

Status
Not open for further replies.

PheasantPlucker

Mechanical
Jan 23, 2003
US
NX 4.02.2
Dell Precision 370
2 MB Ram
Win Xp
Does anyone else in the group use Mold Wizard,and have they had performance issues? I have trouble adding components, where is seems to cycle thru and update every component in the the assembly file. Sometimes it takes 10 minutes to add a standard part.It also gets worse as you add more parts and it is also worse in some directories than others.
Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I'm quite new to NX and moldwizard myself, but have a few designs under my belt now. In one job I created a really ugly assembly, I had a lot of bodies wave linked in a not so clear structure. Minor changes would cause a long cascading update throughout the model that lasted a couple minuets (4x3Ghz, 8gb, new high end system). In more recent designs I have been careful with the assembly and linking structure, and seem to be avoiding this problem.

Pheasant,

Don't know much about mold wizard, but perhaps taking out any other variables might help. Try copying the whole thing to a local drive and setting load options to partial loading, from folder with interpart data turned off, and faceted reference sets preferred over bodies. It may not be very practical but that would be your benchmark for the fastest case. Turn back on the options you would normally use one at a time to see if that reveals the cause.