Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

More infiltration questions 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

proud2banerd

Civil/Environmental
Jun 14, 2007
US
Okay,

I'm trying to design a couple of subsurface infiltration beds at a site in NJ that's just shy of 2.5 acres. (By the way, this is my first time working in NJ, not to mention the fact that I've still got a lot to learn in general about this stuff!)

According to the NJ standards, the bottom of the bed needs to be 3' above the water table, which ranges from 6' to 8' down in this area. What adds to the fun is that I've been asked to fully infitrate the 10yr post development volume increase. I was hoping to keep the beds simple, using perforated pipes and stone, but I'm not sure if that (or anything else) would be a good option for this.
I need to provide a 12" layer of topsoil above the bed.

I'm running into a bunch of headaches:

For starters, how far down do I need to put my perforated pipes? I'd like to at least get them so that the center o the pipe sits at or below the frost line (30"), but if I do this with a 12" pipe, my bottom of bed will be 2.5' above the wt (once I add in a 6" stone bed beneath the pipe.

Secondly, my beds are HUGE. I'm going to take a closer look at the volume reduction calcs, but at the moment I'm calculating that they need to be around 30' wide, and this was based on including 12" diameter pipes in the bed, spaced at 3' on center. It sounds so ridiculous to me to lay out that many pipes. Am I missing some big picture here?

BTW, I took a cursory look at Stormtech, but it looks like their system may be too deep as well.