Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Motor Contactors - Line side or load side of VSD? 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

adam1234

Electrical
Jul 11, 2008
AU
Hi Everyone,

I'm a sales guy who has worked in the automation arena for quite a few years now, particularly machine safety. I am not an Engineer (even though my business card says I am), but I hope you can accommodate me for a short while and help me out with a question I have.

I recently had a discussion with a client about motor contactors. I have always thought it was best practice to have them switching the line side of the VSD. The client sees no problem having them on the load side.

This question sparked a fair bit of debate when I took it back to the office about new vs old technology drives, the effects on IGBTs, and so on.

I'd like to hear your thoughts on "best practice" in this area if you could spare a few minutes...

Regards,

Adam.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Line side has always been best practice. Not only best practice, but also prescribed by almost all manufacturers of VFDs. According to some manufacturers, a contactor between VFD and motor is always a no no.

The safety switch needed in many installation is usually placed bewteen VFD and motor and, in such cases, has an early opening switch that shall switch off the VFD before the main contacts open.

There are many reasons for this. One is that we want things to happen in an orderly way. Another is that opening a circuit with full load causes voltage transients that are supposed to be bad for the drive's semiconductors. Closing a contactor on an active VFD is also supposed to be a problem because contact bounce could generate similar transients.