Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

motor failure 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

humbleuser

Industrial
Dec 6, 2004
US
I don't hang out in this forum anywhere near enough as I should. This is great technical site. However, I do have a question that I'm hoping some of the more experienced mebers can answer. Keep in mind that I'm not a trained electrician; I'm more of general maintenace type of guy :)

I have 25 HP G.E. motor (230/460 3-phase) attached to an injection molding machine. I saw this machine running and making parts prior to me buying it. The place where it came from had it wired for 460. I brought it and rewired it for 230. The motor ran for about 5 minutes, somewhat noisy, before it started smoking and tripped the breaker. The shop that is rewiring it told me that I had the proper wire connections to the motro. I asked him what caused it to burn out? He's not sure. He says the bearings aren't in bad shape. he thinks that some of the 'varnish coating' on the windings may have worn out. It's possible that some condensation on the worn area may have caused the motor to short out. Is this possible? Thanks in advance.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

At 230 volts, the motor has to draw roughly twice as much current to provide the same output load. That will cause increased heating of the motor which likely damaged the windings.

=====================================
Eng-tips forums: The best place on the web for engineering discussions.

but shouldn't the windings be able to withstand the additional heating from the lower voltage since the motor is designed to run at, either, 230V or 460V? Do you think the windings were on the verge of going bad and the lower voltage was "the straw that broke the camel's back"?