Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

motorcycle tyres

Status
Not open for further replies.

fil

Aerospace
Nov 29, 2000
GB
i am looking for more info than the manufacturers give about the performance of motorcycle tyres
e.g. what testing is required ,what info can the customer ask for ?
etc
unfortunately i am not a mechanical engineer - electronics- but am a quick learner can anyone point me in a direction to start - there appears to be very little testing required for a tyre to be legally sold

many thanks in advance

phil

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I think you are right, there is very little testing that is required. In fact, even for car tires, I don't think there is much. The load and speed ratings indicate what the tire is designed to take, and the SAE specifies minimum puncture resistance for the sidewalls, but the other tests (specified in SAE J341a, J918c, J345a, J161a in my 1976 copy of the SAE handbook) aren't really very onerous.

The reason is that the perfromance of the tire is very application specific, so results given for a black round thing (as they are known) in a generic application would not read across very well.

You might be wondering exactly what drives the design of tires, and I must admit that once you get out of OEM fitment I wonder about that myself. I imagine that fleets have a lot of influence.

Cheers

Greg Locock

thanks greg,
so how do manufacturers choose a tyre for a bike and why make other tyres which are not oems?
i am getting to the point where i will have to choose another tyre for my bike and would like more info thean 'mine is the best' surely there are some standard tests which will show how stiff the sidewall is or the damping of the tyre etc?