Motors for Stacker System

Status
Not open for further replies.

roshane87

Mechanical
Mar 14, 2015
LK
Hello,

I'm a mechanical engineer with limited electrical engineering knowledge so please excuse me if I sound naive.

I have a conveyor running with a variable speed drive and I have 3 stackers (as per picture) below them that need to extend based on a signal from a sensor independent of each other.

The stacker will have to move at the same surface speed as the conveyor belt but that's easy to control. This belt, in turn, changes speed based on the speed of the belt that feeds to it (not shown in pic).

I plan on using a toothed belt on a motor/gear motor to run the stacker back and forth.

My question is, what's the most cost-effective way to accomplish this task using the least amount of components?

Ideally, I'd like to do this with 1 PLC, 1 VFD (for the conveyor belt) and 3 independent controllers for the stackers.

I've seen a similar machine run with geared AC motors on the stackers but wouldn't each AC motor need a separate VFD?

Thanks,

RN

RN

https://files.engineering.com/getfile.aspx?folder=f9d76ec5-01af-4ff4-ab4c-76a027a97cb3&file=Capture.JPG
Replies continue below

Recommended for you

So you need to use the motors for positioning?

What scale are we talking about here? I see a pretty picture, but no idea if one millimetre is a large dimension or one kilometre is a small dimension.

Servo motors would be common in that application. And yes, if they have to move separately, each one would need its own drive.

Hi Brian,

The conveyor belt is about 1.5m long and the stacker needs to move (stroke) about 1.2m max but that depends on the length of the panel the conveyor feeds it.

Can I use a DC motor and control with a PWM instead? I don't need feedback from the stepper for position. Wouldn't that be a bit cheaper?

Thanks,

RN

RN