Moving from Europe to California 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pipeline1972

Mechanical
Apr 22, 2004
US
Hello everyone!
In a few months, I will be moving from Belgium to California, where I will marry my American fiancee. So I will enter the country on a K1-Visa, and will get a work permit after the wedding, possibly earlier.
I'm an Industrial Engineer in Electro-mechanics (4 years, Master), so my question is, how/where can I find out if my degree is accepted in the U.S., ie. California? Will I have to pass some tests? I do have the possibility of getting an European Engineer degree (Eur Ing), I just have to ask and pay for it. Is Eur Ing recognized in the U.S.?
Thank you for your advices!

Draftsman - Designer Industrial Piping

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Let me extend a presumptive welcome to the Golden State.

To work for a company in California as an engineer, it is not legally necessary to be licensed -- a few companies do require it but outside of the Civil / Structural / Geotech / HVAC fields, it's rare. If your intention is to work under the "industrial exemption" as do most engineers in California, you will not need to take tests. To pursue your license, you should begin at the website of the California licensing board.

Your ability to find work here will be primarily dependent on your experience, not your education. Without experience, a job search would be very difficult right now.

Even with experience, you could be looking at a very long search for a job.

Where will you be located?

--------------------
Bring back the HP-15
--------------------

Is your degree covered by the Washington accord?

If your program is listed there hen it should be accepted.

Keep in mind that the accord was signed by the federal government and not the individual state. Because of state’s rights issues in the US each state can overrule the federal government on issues within their jurisdiction and engineering licensing is one of them.