Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Moving from US to EU - Bridge Engineering

Status
Not open for further replies.

BridgeEngineer21

Structural
Oct 26, 2021
DK
My wife and I are looking into the possibility of moving to Europe, specifically Amsterdam, within the next year. I have 6 years experience doing consulting work for bridge design in a few major East Coast cities. My experience is a mix of design, construction support, inspection and management. I haven't had much experience with complex bridge designs (i.e things besides simple span steel girders/concrete deck) though its a direction I'm interested in heading in. I just sat for my PE, and wouldn't plan to move until I'm licensed. I also recently got my masters in structural engineering. Ideally I want to stay within the bridge or at least infrastructure field.

I have a number of questions I want to look into before moving forward with this, so I figured I'd put them all here and if anyone has any thoughts on even one of these it would be very helpful. I'm new to the forums so if there is a better place - or even a better website - to post this please let me know.

1. Has anyone moved from US to EU, doing any type of engineering? What was the transition like? In terms of workplace culture, project setup, design codes and processes used, work-life balance, etc. Obviously any experience specifically with bridge design and/or the Netherlands would be best but I'm trying to cast a wide net here.

2. With my experience what pay range could I expect? My general sense is to expect less than I'm making now (~80k USD) but with a lower cost of living on many fronts. I did a back of the envelope calculation a while ago that the amount I pay for taxes + healthcare currently would add up to about the same over there (with more on taxes and less on healthcare), but I gotta look into that a little closer as well.