Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Moving sub-asemblies 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

peternoon

Mechanical
Apr 2, 2011
BO
Hello,

I am relatively new to Solidworks.

I have created an assembly with a number of sub-assemblies. I am trying to move whole sub-assemblies to see them in different configurations, ideally saving the configurations, but is too difficult to do it. Sometimes they will not move, sometimes only some parts of the sub-assembly move, sometimes the sub-assembly drags another sub-assembly with it.

I do not have mates among sub-assemblies. I have made the sub-assemblies flexible. I have allowed the parts to float.

Is this not the way it is done in Solidworks, do I have to move the parts within the sub-assembly, not the latter or what am I doing wrong?

Thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Are you making different configurations within the assy using the various subassy's?
What exactly do you mean "move"?
If you want to use the subassy's, you suppress or unsuppress the parts and assy's for each config that you want to use or not use.

Chris, CSWP
SolidWorks '16
ctophers home
SolidWorks Legion

Hello ctpooher,

I mean move the whole soub-assembly like this:

Supposing you have made a sub-assembly with all the parts (components) of the trunk of a car. The rest of the car is in the main assembly. You want to see how the trunk opens so you want to rotate/move the whole trunk sub-assembly, then you create a configuration of it open so that you have two: open and closed.

Thanks