Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

MSC ADAMS adm file 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

josefl9

Mechanical
Apr 19, 2021
GR
Good evening, I am new to this, so please forgive any irregularities in the way i post this.

I have exported an .adm file from an MSC ADAMS .bin model, but for some reason the bearings from the .bin model don't get passed on to the .adm file as bearings, but rather as simple geometries,constrains and bearing forces.

I also tried using the same .adm file on linux, but things were even worse, with the model beeing completely missaligned from the bearrings (as if it were offset).

Does anyone know how to I could fix this, or what might be causing this problem?

Thank you in advnace

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

It's not a problem, it's a feature. The adm file is written in the language that the Solver understands, and the Solver doesn't know anything about bearings. It knows about constraints and forces and torques and masses and accelerations and so on. So a bearing will typically be a constraint with all but one degree of freedom locked.

What are you trying to do with the exported file?

Cheers

Greg Locock

New here? Try reading these, they might help FAQ731-376

Good morning,

I am trying to run an optimization script (using Matlab) to determine the model's contact parameters (virtually using brute force).