Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Mysterious soot on the exhaust valves 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

mrwizz

Electrical
Jun 25, 2006
US
Engine configuration:
361 cube oval racing small block Chevy geared and tuned to run up to 7600 rpms - Dart Aluminum heads with straight plugs - 55cc combustion chambers - cam with 256 deg intake and 264 degree exhaust at .05 lift. - the flat top pistons and chambers are configured to maximize quench/turbulance - .034 clearence piston to head cold - and total of 34 degrees spark advance.
I've been building this style engine for many years, so I generally know what to expect when setting up the carb and valves on the dyno. Usually the carbs are pretty close right out of the box with maybe going one or two sizes up on the jets. This is where things get strange. It took three sizes up on the jets to make smooth broad power. Race day approaching dictated that there was no more time for dyno tinkering.
At the track the engine snapped and popped like it was lean. One more jet size up helped power and the plugs looked better. After many runs it still sounded on the lean side. Added more jet size. Now with a total of five jet sizes up, the engine was clearly top dog both out of the corners and at top end. It was better than several cars that were know to be running outside the rules with roller cams etc. When my motor was protested - torn down for inspection - found to be completely legal - They could not believe it.