Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Nail Gun Testing Fixture, designing fixture and counter

Status
Not open for further replies.

bogiedreamer

Mechanical
Apr 14, 2005
Hi,
I am designing a test fixture to test the life of a seal (I am a seal engineer) inside a nail gun. I have little experience in designing test fixtures and I need your advice.

Here are the criteria:

1. Nail gun must be fastened or clamped tight.
2. Use pneumatic actuator, rotating motor other mechanical means to mechanically trigger the nail gun. Please advice on this.
3. Need to count the number of cycle. How?
4. Nail gun generates loud noise and vibration, what material should I use for the Housing? I am thinking about aluminum. Any advice.

If you have concept sketches please send them to me at bogiedreamer@gmail.com .

Thank you very much,
Bogiedreamer

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

If you are looking for quick and dirty, I would go with a rotating shaft. The shaft could have one cam to actuate the trigger, a second to actuate some sort of trip counter.

As for the enclosure, use whatever is handy. Plywood would work just fine, just make sure that you have something durable where the nails hit (unless you are dry-firing). Line the outside with acoustical foam or a quilted sound deadening blanket and go to town.

Hope this helps.

One cam would do if it counts at some angle to the gun actuator.
Not sure what you mean by "housing". An enclosure for the test set up? If so, it could be built of plywood unless you are concerned about flying debris when the gun fails. Wood is a good insulator for sound and temperature.