Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

NASTRAN versus COSMOSWORKS 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

dshaffer1001

Aerospace
Aug 16, 2007
US
Howdy folks, new guy here. I hope this is the right place to post this, if not, please accept my apologies.

I don't know much about COSMOSWORKS. Can anybody clue me in on how it compares with NX NASTRAN ? Is there any particular reason to favor one over the other ?

I am an aerospace engineer with several years experience using MSC/NASTRAN, now NX NASTRAN, on both civilian and military aircraft. My company has been asked to analyze a crashworthy crew seat installation on a military transport. The seat faces aft and is attached to the aircraft side wall, not the floor. It is required to fold against the side wall when not in use, so its support structure incorporates lug fittings, plus several removable struts that are held in place using lock pins and stowed when not in use. Various intercostals and brackets will be added to the aircraft side wall. The structure is to be analyzed for static emergency landing and flight loads only.

I will have to analyze the support structure, struts, lugs, attaching intercostals and brackets, fasteners, the whole nine yards.

We have been given Solidworks models of the entire installation. My fellow stress guy has a copy of COSMOSWORKS, and says he can get the model built and running in a lot less time than I can using NASTRAN. I believe him, as the NASTRAN model will be a considerable amount of work, even using the Solidworks geometry to help me set it up.

Are you folks aware of any reasons NOT to use COSMOSWORKS ?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

This is what a created COSMOSWORKS report says in a note: