Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

NCEES FE Mechanical Exam Preparation

Status
Not open for further replies.

marcleblanc12

Mechanical
May 7, 2014
CA
I'm a Canadian Professional Engineer who will be challenging the NCEES FE Mechanical Exam in the near future.

I'm looking into buying a book to prepare myself for this exam since I graduated from University way back in 2005 so it's been a while since I've looked at a lot of this material.

I've found the following 2 books by Michael R. Lindeburg:

- FE Review Manual: Rapid Preparation for the Fundamentals of Engineering Exam, 3rd Edition (2010)
Is this one for the Mechanical exam?

- FE Mechanical Review Manual (2014)
Is this book the same as the first one I mentioned?

I've also found a book by Davin Goldenberg:

- FE Mechanical Exam Prep 2024-2025 published in 2023
Is this one better than the Lindeburg books or should I stick to Lindeburg?

If anyone knows which one I should get please let me know since the price varies depending on which one you go with. Also, I can get some used copies for fairly cheap, are the older editions just as good or should I get the latest and greatest?

Thanks in advance for your help and input.

Marc

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The Lindeburg books are good reference material and have lots of good questions. However in the past they were more useful since the test was open book and you could bring your copy - now all (most?) states have switched to computer based training and the only reference guide is the NCEES FE exam reference guide.

In addition to doing practice tests and whatnot, highly recommend getting used to navigating their reference manual and finding things quickly via PDF since that's all you have now.