Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

NEC Voltage Drop

Status
Not open for further replies.

P1ENG

Structural
Aug 25, 2010
US
I am a structural engineer tasked with finding the maximum wire run length for a simple modular building. The panel has 120v receps with the branch load rating of 900 Watts. So, I'm working with 7.5 amps. I am allowed 2% voltage drop on the branch circuit (ASHRAE requirement I believe). Googling has allowed me to find my answer, but the equation isn't sitting right with me and in the interest of getting a better understanding, I have some questions.

First, the voltage drop equation using the circular mils approach is fairly easy if you don't consider units in the equation:
VD = 2*Length*Load*K / CM
Therefore Length= VD*CM/(2*Load*K)= 2.4*6530/(2*7.5*12.9) = 80.99 feet... easy.

Where:
[ul]
[li]VD = voltage drop = 2.4 (120v * 2%)[/li]
[li]Length = solved value in ft[/li]
[li]K = 12.9 Ohms (found via several google searches, don't know how it is derived or where to find this value in NEC). I have found that resistivity of copper is 1.724x10^-8 Ohm*meter @ 20 degrees C, but I can't correlate this into the K value @ 75 degreees C.[/li]
[li]CM = Circular mils = 6530 for 12 AWG (I understand this is the wire diameter squared, so this should be in [in/1000]^2). However, in Table 8 of Chapter 9, the area column is given in mm^2 and Circular mils and converting one to the other does not result in the same value.[/li]
[/ul]