Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Need advice. Guide to be a structural engineer

Status
Not open for further replies.

engrmarks

Structural
Nov 2, 2019
PH
Hi. I just want to know any tips to become a freelance/self-employed structural engineer in the future. My main target is just small projects. Low-rise buildings and the likes. I am a Licensed Civil Engineer in my country and currently work in the construction industry as technical engineer on-site. Fairly new to the industry, just about 2 years in total experience.

Can I be a freelance/self-employed structural engineer in the future if I stay in the construction industry? I like the the construction industry because you get to see the actual thing and work with other people, it also feels more alive rather than sitting in front of a computer everyday but I also want to do structural design. What is the best course of action? What training should I take? Should I go to a design firm?

Thank you all!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Is 2 years your total experience, or just in the construction industry?

In my experience, you can't generally work in the construction industry in that way while being free-lance. Most of the construction firms I know want their site engineers on staff. And they generally are separated from their delegated design engineers who take care of their shoring designs etc.

Nice goal, but no way with only 2 years so far. Keep this in mind and try to find work for a firm that does those types of jobs. Maybe in 10 years, and maybe not.

My tendency is to say that you should only be a free lance / self employed engineer for the types of work that you have solid experience and knowledge in. So, if you're talking about doing this for small projects and low rise buildings and such, then you should have worked under an engineer doing the design calculations and issuing drawings for that type of work.