Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

NEED advice regarding Next move

Status
Not open for further replies.

engrPET

Petroleum
Jun 8, 2015
Hello all

I am new here in this forum and found this an excellent platform to discuss and share our experinces. I am hopeful someone amongst the experienced people here will respond to my query and situation.

I graduated as a Petroleum Engineer in Aug 2013, from a reputable university in Pakistan with flying colors and amongst the top 10 students of my batch.

During my 4 year study at the university, I had always planned to work for an E&P organization as a Petroleum Engineer; preferably in Reservoir. But upon my graduation things did not seem to move as per my plans, owing to poor recruitment rate in my country esp for fresh Petroleum Engineers and specifically in Operator Organizations.

But luckily I was able to get a job very soon and that too abroad; in Saudi Arabia, as a Field Engineer in a services company that provided data transmission services from Well-sites to Head office of the only Operator Giant in KSA. Although this job was not directly related to my Majors or had a fancy career track I decided to go for it explaining myself that something is better than nothing and a bird in hand is worth two in the bushes. The money that I am earning is good enough though.