Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Need Advice - Should I get a PhD? 6

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zalech13

Mechanical
May 30, 2024
US
I'm a 34 year old mechanical engineer currently working in industry and I'm considering pursuing a PhD, but I'm unsure whether it is the right decision for me. I wanted to share my situation and see if anyone can offer some insight as to whether pursuing this path would make sense.

I have been working in industry since graduating with my BSME in 2012. I earned a Master of Science in Engineering a few years ago going part-time on my previous employer's dime. I also earned a PE license, for whatever that's worth. I really like my current employer as a company, they pay and treat me well, but I'm looking at the paths I have available to me going forward in my career and I don't like any of the options. I'm doing a lot of project management in my current role and I'm just bored by it; I feel like I have more to offer on the technical side of things. But I also know that there are less opportunities for advancement if I go technical, so I don't really like where that ends either. Where the PhD comes into it is that I really like the idea of being a University Professor, teaching and doing research. I could see myself being really happy in that type of role. So I've been looking into PhD programs and trying to decide if this is the right move or not. The good news is, with my masters under my belt, I would just need to do 5-6 classes and then work on my research/dissertation, so it wouldn't be a huge lift relatively speaking. Here are my hesitations: