Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Need Direction! How did you get there? Are you happy now you're there? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

emilioestevez

Electrical
Aug 22, 2007
US
I'm currently a field service technician planning on going back to school for electrical engineering. My problem is that I have no idea what I would do with the degree. I know I want to do better financially than what I'm doing now (although that's not near my highest priority when it comes to planning my career) and I am very motivated when it comes to learning new things. I've been researching online but all I can come up with is different job titles and possibly salaries to go along with them.

What I'm looking from in this post is an example of what engineers (preferably electrical) are actually doing. How did you get there? Are you happy or fulfilled with what you are doing? and would you have done anything differently along the way?

There's so many different routes to take and I'd like to have some kind of direction to guide me along through the learning process. I know I like the industrial environment and robotics have always sounded interesting to me. But what else is out there that I might be missing?

I've also been looking at engineering management based on the fact that I know I have better than average management skills but would still have the benefit of learning all the things that interest me. Any ideas on routes to take in that direction?

One last question. I've also read that a Bachelor of Science degree in engineering with a specialty in electrical engineering might be a good choice as apposed to a EE degree. Any thoughts?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you