Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Need help explaining use of ASHRAE Design Condition Charts

Status
Not open for further replies.

AVSteve

Mechanical
Jun 5, 2009
US
I am a new HVAC designer. Right now I am helping with the design of a new nursing home facility in Salmon Creek WA. The owner has not dictated any specific design conditions for the job. That being the case it is left up to me to use my professional judgment to design a comfortable facility. My problem arises with selecting appropriate 100% O/A units to use in ventilating the building. Every ASHRAE Design conditions chart includes 4 different sets of ambient conditions: Cooling DB/MCWB, Evaporation WB/MCDB, Dehumidification DP/MCDB and HR, & Enthalpy/MCDB. I need to find a simple and concise explanation of what each of these sets of temps means. I found an explanation in the ASHRAE Fundamentals book in section 14.6 but I am not certain that I understand completely the implications of these temperatures as they describe it therein.

It seems to me that:

- The 'Cooling' values should be used to select a system that has no interaction with outside air, a non-ventilating split system.

- The 'Evaporation' would be used when designing the operating efficiencies of an evaporative system used mainly for cooling, like a cooling tower

- and the 'Dehumidification' values would be used where moisture control from outside air ventilation was the main, or secondary, concern.

I am very concerned that I choose the correct conditions in my equipment selection because these conditions for the Portland area have vastly different implications on the equipment performance.

These O/A units will be used solely for ventilation purposes and will be supplying neutral air at 75 °F / 50% RH.