Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Need help with choosing the right Masters Degree Program

Status
Not open for further replies.

CPENG78

Civil/Environmental
Sep 2, 2008
US
Hi Everyone,
Ever since I can remember, I have known that I wanted to have at least a Master's or a PhD in my field. I have a B.S. degree in Civil Engineering with an emphasis in structural engineering from a great school. While I thought I wanted to go into structural engineering, the truth of the matter is that I went into general civil (land development) right out of school. Today, I have 5 years experience in general civil engineering including about a year and half in project management. Unfortunately due to the state of this economy, I was laid off twice last year and currently just working part time for my present employer.

While the idea of getting a master's was merely that because of a very busy schedule, I feel that now is the time for me to go back to school and get that degree. I am debating whether I should go for a Master's in Structural or General Civil and which programs to apply to.

If choose, a degree in structural engineering I would the ability or should I say it would be easier for me to switch careers to the structural field; something which I am seriously considering since it has been my first passion. I did work for a structural company for almost two years when I was still working on my BS degree and I enjoyed it. If I go for a masters in general civil, I would be adding the degree to my resume and that can only help to make myself more markeatable. Have any of you been confronted with such a decision?