Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Need help with hollow \ tube rivets \ sourcing

Status
Not open for further replies.

BallisticBrian

Industrial
May 4, 2012
GB
Hi there, noob here. I am having trouble creating a steel "pipe" passing through metal sheet. I obtained some 4mm metal completely hollow rivets, and have tried pushing one rivet onto the other either side of the metal sheet in a vice. Because both rivets are the same size, one of the rivets always slips sideways in the vice and crushes or distorts the other rivet.
I also tried widening one rivet with a tool, but it was not enough and did not work.
I guess what I really need is pairs of hollow rivets which are designed to fit together but I have tried for 2 months to source these uncuccessfully.
I realise I could use some kind of circlip on one side, but I am trying to produce a well finished product and don't want it to look thrown together.
Any help appreciated.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Without knowing what loads this will be subject to ~~~ could you try an eyelet or a grommet?

It is better to have enough ideas for some of them to be wrong, than to be always right by having no ideas at all.

You know, that was a very useful reply and I was able to purchase some small brass grommets designed for use in clothing and shoes 4mm, they were perfect.

At first I thought I had a perfect solution, however, I discovered that when the brass grommet was squeezed into the stainless steel hollow rivet, it was a little too soft to be a permanent fixture. The hollow rivet on one side could be yanked out with a little force.