Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Need HVAC advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Timelord

Mechanical
Dec 18, 2002
US
I recently had a friend come to me for some engineering advice and I thought I’d pass along his problem to this forum to see what you all can suggest. My friend is a wine collector and he has constructed a wine cellar to store his collection. I’m no wine expert (MD 20/20 is my speed) but the question relates to HVAC for his cellar. He has constructed a 6’ X 6’ room with R60 in the walls and ceiling. It is sitting on a ground floor slab and we are located in Albuquerque. He tells me that the best way to store wine is at 55deg to 60 deg , minimizing all thermal swings. He tells me that the absolute temp is not as important as minimizing both the amplitude and number of thermal swings the wine sees. He has monitored the room and the temp is pretty stable, but here in the southwest the average temperature rises to high in the summer for the wine. He wants to add a small chiller or air conditioner to keep the temp from rising in the summer. I reasoned that cooling the air directly is not the way to go. I advised him to use the chiller to chill a large thermal sink fastened to the wall opposite the wine rack. The question is how to control the temperature. I think the way to go is to put the thermocouple for the controller in the thermal sink or even in the slab, but not in the air, to minimize any swings when he enters or leaves the cellar. Maybe even more than one temp probe and an intelligent controller. Any thoughts on a simpler way to accomplish his intent?

Timelord

Replies continue below

Recommended for you