Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

need info on flexible material max 2mm thick

Status
Not open for further replies.

oakies

Materials
Sep 4, 2003
NL
I'm looking for a durable material that's both flexible (rollable to one side)and rigid (to the other), like a sheet of paper. The surface outline used is no greater than 13 cm (in length) by 5cm (in width). When rolled up (like a piece of paper) to one side, the material should be able to hold 3 to 4 kg. I'm new in this, so forgive my layman approach.

Oakies

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Oakies,

Are you saying that you want the material to be stiff and rigid along one axis, and transverse or perpendicular to that axis, you want it to be very flexible? If you want something like that, I have something like it sitting on my desk. It is a laminate of graphite fibers and a flexible urethane elastomer, with the fibers oriented at + and - 15 degrees to the long axis. THe fibers are stiff and strong, but perpendicular to the 0 degree axis it is mostly a flexible rubber/elastomer, which deforms easier.

Depending on your application, you could use other fibers, or other materials. It appears at first glance that you want a big mis-match with your axial and transverse stiffnesses (EI).

hope this helps.

ldp

Dear Orangepeel,

Sorry I haven't thanked you earlier (busy as usual). I read that selling or promoting isn't allowed in the forums. Have u any tips on how i can get a sample of the material you mentioned (I live in Amsterdam by the way)? If not, thanks anyway. Many regards,
Michael

Dear Oakies,