Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Need some pieces of advice form expert(Reverse engineering) 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Elnabil

Mechanical
Oct 25, 2022
MA
Good day everyone, I hope you are all doing well.

Could you please advise on how to acquire best skills in choosing mechanical parts, as a mechanical engineer I find some difficulties to find the suitable mechanical parts that can fulfil some of my needs, for example the revolute or prismatic links, I Believe it's a matter of experience through the studying of many real mechanism and trying to identify what does each part of the mechanism. I wonder if there are some resources on the internet-Mechanical reverse engineering-(courses, books, channels) which provide these kind of information? I'll be grateful if someone could help me and help la large community of engineers who aim to enhance their designing skills.
Regards.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I have been a mechanical engineer designing special machines for almost 50 years, and I have never heard of "revolute or prismatic links". Had to look it up. To me it seems like they are just fancy words for a rotary joint or a linear slide.

To address your question - the best teacher is experience, and when you don't have your own experience you must lean on the experience of others. I find many young engineers enter the working world with the mistaken assumption that they are expected to know everything. Actually they are expected to know very little. After all, their REAL education has only just begun. My advice for you is to develop good relationships with as many experienced engineers as you can. Learn to lean on them for advice and guidance. Do not depend on them to do your work, but use them as guideposts. They have a "map of the minefield" and they know where all the mines are buried. Their white hair came at a price. Ask for their opinions and guidance. They will take it as a compliment.