Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Networking, memberships, and mentors

Status
Not open for further replies.

PeacefulKancer

Electrical
Aug 5, 2007
US
I currently work as a contracted customer service engineer in the semiconductor field and have done so for 8 years. For some time now I have felt that I needed to move onto something new but have always been blinded by fear of the unknown and held captive by comfort of a nice paycheck. The pay and benefits are good but it has come to a point where while those items are good it is evident that I have reached the ceiling with this job.

In any case, I like to think that part of my misery is that I'm simply not learning anymore and that any efforts to improve my workplace are harshly struck down by management. So as a result of all this I've tried to think of how the best way to move on would be.

I recently read an article entitled Neglecting These 5 Actions Will Crush Your Career and I thought to myself that I lack in all these areas. I don't have any mentors or ambassadors. I am not a member of any professional organizations. I haven't interviewed in 8+ years. And I don't really have any concrete goals for my career advancement. In a nut-shell, I really am disconnected from the industry/engineering world.