New Grad in the Pharmaceutical Industry

Status
Not open for further replies.

KlausMikalson

Bioengineer
Aug 10, 2020
GR
Hello everyone,,
As the title indicates I’m a recent graduate (B.S. Chemical Engineering) and I recently got a job in manufacturing in the pharmaceutical industry. In my previous internship experience I was in the semiconductor industry. I know basics of bioreactors and the processes that are happening. However, a lot of the people I’m working with are more advanced than I am. Several of the other new hires that I started with all have their PhD. I’m wondering if any of you can provide some resources that can help me out. I’ve tried looking on google, but most of the things I’ve found are $200+ textbooks. I know just working in industry I’ll learn a lot, but I want to try and learn as much as I can so that I can keep up with my coworkers and the conversations that they have. Any resources or advice that you can provide is greatly appreciated!!!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Find a mentor. The best person to teach you the ropes might not always be the ones you expect.
Read everything available.
There are probably internal manuals , procedures etc. Get to know them well.
Keep your mouth shut and your eyes and ears open.
Keep a list of questions about stuff you have seen and heard. Do some homework on those questions on the list, before asking them. This will help frame your questions appropriately.
When you have the opportunity ask questions.
Write important stuff down.
Talk to people about what they are doing-doesn't matter who they are or what they do. It could be important.
Learn the language of the industry. Know what the acronyms mean.
Don't be afraid to offer to help somewhere or to ask for help when you need it.

Some of those that seem more advanced , just maybe more confident or can use the jargon. Does not mean they know anything.

Regards
Ashtree
"Any water can be made potable if you filter it through enough money"