Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

New Graduate....Any Advice to Accel? 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

clemsonengineer2005

Geotechnical
Jan 2, 2006
US
I just graduated form Clemson University. I got a B.S. in Civil Engineering and my M.S. In Civil Engineering also. I did research in Materials (asphalt and my Master's was in Project Management. I some how got into Geotechnical/Construction Services with my current job. I work with a well known testing agency and I am looking for experienced advice on how to accel in this field.

I find it hard to tell a contractor, that i have developed a good relationship with, that a proofroll failed or that they have to undercut or rework. I graduated 2nd in my class with a 3.9 GPA and I guess when I started that I would have a more technical job. I am having to balance the fact that I left a laboratory with well defined specifications and procedures to filed work where nothing seems to be organized or noone knows the specifications to follow. I have many questions in the feild only to be put on hold and made to feel like an idiot when i cannot answer the contractor/owners question on-site. I know some of this could be pertained to the fact that I have not been trained at all for my job. I accompanied 2 fellow employees for maybe one week total before I was thrown onto a job full time where I had no idea what was going on being that I had just gotten out of school.